Oregon State Credit Union

Dallas High School seniors Natalia Schilling and Ryan Bibler are two of ten recipients of Oregon State Credit Union’s Tomorrow’s Leaders Today (TLT) scholarships of $2,000 each.

The credit union annually awards $20,000 divided evenly among ten local high school senior members of the credit union attending an in-state college or university this fall. The annual TLT scholarship program honors high school seniors with not only academic excellence, but also community engagement within the Credit Union’s 4,400 ten members. Over the last 20 years, 201 students have received more than $220,000 in assistance toward their college educations. These students are all from the Credit Union’s 24-county field of membership.

Schilling will be attending Oregon State University with five other TLT scholarship winners, while Bibler joins one other recipient opting for Western Oregon University.

To learn more about Oregon State Credit Union scholarships, grants, and community education, contact Mike Corwin at 541-714-4286 or mcorwin@oregonstatecu.com.

Oregon State Credit Union all started with a shoebox and $25. In 1954, Bob Coyle, an Associate Professor of Agriculture at the then Oregon State College (now Oregon State University), and founded Oregon State Credit Union to serve the unmet financial needs of faculty. With an initial $25 start-up fund kept in a shoe-box, he originally ran the credit union from his desk in Snell Hall (now Ballard Extension Hall).

Now, Oregon State Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative, open to anyone who lives or works in 24 western and central Oregon counties. Mr. Coyle’s philosophy is also still at work today: “Your credit union is in business for one purpose only – to serve the needs of its members.” Earnings are returned to members in the form of competitive financial offerings, more service, and convenience. For additional information about Oregon State Credit Union is available at oregonstatecu.com.

Congratulations to Natalia Schilling and Ryan Bibler for winning such an excellent scholarship! Thank you to Oregon State Credit Union for making such opportunities possible!